Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Less experienced travelers needing help with Switzerland and France

Jun 21st, 2008, 04:22 PM
Original Poster

Hi,
This is my first time posting. My husband and I are in our early 30's and we have booked a timeshare week in Jausiers, France. I have found little on the town itself (small town ski resort and we are going in July so I expect there is not much to do there.) Our itinerary is to fly into Zurich, Switzerland arriving in the morning. We hope to spend the day doing some museums, churches, etc. I plan on purchasing a ZurichCARD. In the evening we will go to the opera. What are the main "can't miss" things to do during the day? Do we have to dress up for the opera house? We are staying at the Marriott (booked on Priceline) The next morning we plan to rent a car and drive into France. I think it is about a 6 1/2 hour drive to our destination. Any ideas on renting a car would be helpful. I know gas is really expensive but we will need a car because I don't think Jausiers has a train stop. Other places we are considering making day trips to are: Nice, Monoco, Milan, Turin, anything within a few hours drive of our place. Any suggestions? We like the beach, we like the mountains, we are pretty active. I have heard we can scuba dive in Nice without a certification??? We want to experience the culture of the area, eat good food, and not spend the little bit of retirement we have saved. Oh, we also like antiques, shopping, and interesting tours. We have basically 5-6 days at our timeshare before driving back to Zurich and flying home. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. Much of what I have already read on Zurich was helpful.
Jun 21st, 2008, 04:49 PM

Can't help you too much, but I found these websites that might offer some add'l info that you don't already have:

http://www.beyond.fr/villages/jausiers.html (English)

http://www.provenceweb.fr/e/alaupro/...s/jausiers.htm (English)