Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Left Hand Driving suggestions for Right hand drive person- In Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/left-hand-driving-suggestions-for-right-hand-drive-person-in-europe-821798/)

Paragkash Jan 14th, 2010 11:54 PM

Left Hand Driving suggestions for Right hand drive person- In Europe

I have been driving cars and bikes for last 23 years in India.
I have driven a car in the UK form London to Scotland and back.
I have tried a bike in Greece.
Am used to the Right hand drive cars- Right side steering wheel.

I am planning a family holiday to Turkey and Germany.
Am planning to rent a car in Cappadocia ( 2 days) and Selcuk( 2 days)
and in Bavaria, Germany for 3 days ( not in the cities) Berchtesgaden, Fussen, Lindau.

I need to try it once before I can do it in futue, to get over that block in my mind.

Any suggestions and instructions please...

stfc Jan 15th, 2010 12:16 AM

After an initial unfamiliarity you will have no problem. The fact of the steering wheel being on the left and the gear-change on the right will put you in the right frame of mind.

Advice: if you are travelling with a partner insist that he/she says to you very positively as you start the first journey of each day -'Drive on the Right!'. Other danger points are car parks where you can easily forget and after the initial concentration of the first couple of days on later days starting as you are used to, on the 'wrong' side of the road. We've all done it.

Apart from that you will have no problems. I spent several years living in a country which drove on the right and had little difficulty swapping about when I came home.

Be advised though that road rules and manners are different in Europe from what you will know in India. Generally far less aggressive and with very limited use of the horn.

Enjoy your trip.

hsv Jan 15th, 2010 12:20 AM