Advice; Ski-ing in Spain

Search

Advice; Ski-ing in Spain

Search this Thread

Old Nov 9th, 2005, 04:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice; Ski-ing in Spain

I am considering ski-ing in Spain and would appreciate comments on Andorra vs Sierra Nevada and if the Andorra resorts differ.

We are a mixed party from Red through to absolute beginners and 50 to 4, the teenager would prefer to board.
Old Nov 9th, 2005, 04:49 AM
JFlorides

I was in Sierra Nevada at the very end of season - late March this year. I am a boarder (or perhaps should say I WAS a boarder, after a broken wrist I may have hung up my board for good!).

We were a group of 4 in our 30s, 3 skiers and one (ex?)boarder all of different skill levels. The resort certainly had something for everyone. We went too late in the season for good skiing - towards the end of the week the slopes were quite icy, hence the broken wrist.

Old Nov 9th, 2005, 04:52 AM
JFlorides

sorry, hit post by mistake!

I haven't been to Andorra so can not compare, hopefully someone else can. If you have not been to Granada the sierra nevada has the attraction of being less than an hour from a fabulous city.

Old Nov 9th, 2005, 08:12 AM

When are you planning this ski trip? A number of resorts are very popular and fill up quickly over the weekends. The only ones that I'm familiar with are in the Pyrenees.

Gourette & Astun (Pyrénées Atlantiques)

Le Somport, Candanchú & Panticosa Resorts (Port de Somport, north of Jaca)

Formigal Ski resort in Sallent de Gállego (also north of Jaca)

There is also terrific skiing in Val D'Aran at the Salardu ski resort and in Espot.
Old Nov 9th, 2005, 01:26 PM
Original Poster

Sadly, planning UK spring half term. i.e. Feb '06. Your geography is much better than mine. Any hints as to where the resorts you mention are?
Old Nov 9th, 2005, 04:33 PM