Leasing a car in France

Search

Leasing a car in France

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1st, 2012, 10:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Leasing a car in France

Has anyone leased a car in France? Is this a good option for a trip of 21 days? Any idea which type of car is targeted most by thieves, manual or automatic; diesel or gas? Is it better to drive a French car to ward off thieves? Thanks.
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 10:57 AM

I've leased cars in France many times, and yes, it's a great option. I have no idea about thieves; I've had no experience with them. I drive a manual, diesel, as that's what I prefer. In all likelihood you won't have any option other than a French car.
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 11:29 AM

Why would you feel you need to ward off thieves? We're pretty civilized here.

Leasing can be a very good idea, but you should compare rates with renting for that fairly short period.
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 11:49 AM

I have leased once or twice but rentals now are much more competitive than they once were. I have not recently seen a cost structure for leasing that was cheaper to that of renting. Check for pricing here:

www.autoeurope.com

Some like leasing because of the included bumper to bumper insurance coverage. However, American Express now has complete, primary insurance coverage for only $25 when using their card to pay for the car. If there is any claim, you simply walk away and AE covers the dammage. This insurance is superior to any offered free by Visa or MC which is only secondary coverage and not as comprehensive.

https://www295.americanexpress.com/p...do?source=CCSG

Regardless of the model of car you drive, thieves will target cars driven by tourists assuming that cameras, cash, or other items easily converted into cash are accessible. Leased cars have red license plates (indicating that certain taxes have been deferred) and red plates are a sure sign that the car is being driven by a tourist.