Reload this Page >

Late May advice for Nature lovers. Two days in Munich + Salzburg

Old Jan 17th, 2019, 11:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ITINERARY FEEDBACK NEEDED. Late May 2019. Two days in Munich, two in Salzburg

My wife and I are looking for from this trip revolve around nature (I am a photographer), mild weather (some snow might be okay) and some peace/quiet. Other things:
- Beautiful landscapes
- Wildlife
- Wild Flowers
- Waterfalls
- Hiking
- Scenic Railroads
- BEER: for me

We fly info Munich early Saturday, May 25th, and plan on taking a train to Salzburg morning of Monday, May 27th.

A few questions

1. If I only had one destination for beer in Munich, where would you recommend?

2. Given our interests above, where should we stay in Munich? We like quaint/cozy/non-commercial. Any other tips on what to see/do?

3. I read that the scenic railroad through Garmisch to Innsbruck is beautiful. Is it worth taking that route, then to Salzburg? I realize this may take up a whole day, but if it is scenic we are fine with that.

4. If we should go direct to Salzburg via train, what do you recommend for a scenic route?

5. We are considering spending two days in the Garmisch area AFTER Salzburg. Is the landscape/scenery drastically different than what we will see in Munich/Salzburg? If so, what are some must-dos.

6. Another option is to train down into the Dolomites from Salzburg. Is that trip painful as far as travel time? Worth trying in late May?
Old Jan 17th, 2019, 11:44 AM