Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   July 2-5, 2012 Int'l Philosphy Conference at Assos, Turkey (near Troy) (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/july-2-5-2012-intl-philosphy-conference-at-assos-turkey-near-troy-933578/)

otherchelebi May 1st, 2012 01:09 PM

July 2-5, 2012 Int'l Philosphy Conference at Assos, Turkey (near Troy)

I have been posting about this annual meeting for the last two years, to draw attention to this beautiful region of Turkey with Troy and Pergamon within easy reach and where Aristotle still presides in spirit if not in body.

I also posted a trip report of our trip to the 2010 conference, as follows :

http://www.fodors.com/community/fodo...-travel.cfm?33

All you have to do is send an e-mail to attend the conference. And even if you do not apply but just appear there, no one will stop you. (just as long as you can remember to give me the secret password :) )

The sea is clean as can be, or as wet as can be as Lewis Carol once said. Lesvos looks mystical in the distance and the concert in the ancient theatre is eerie, especially if you have already had over one bottle of the cheap philosophical wine while waiting for the violonist to appear.

here is the program, copied from the site, www.philosophyinassos.org :

Passions and Emotions in Ancient and Modern Philosophy

July 2, Monday

19:00 Temple of Athena: Welcome, Blue Waters, Wine & Sunset

21:30 Dinner at the Harbour (Nazlıhan Hotel Restaurant)

July 3, Tuesday

13:30 Walter Cavini (University of Bologna): “I Wonder at the Existence of the World: Wondering as a Philosophical Emotion”

15:00 Fulvia De Luise (University of Trento): “Eros the Builder: Intensive Passions and Personal Identity in Plato”

16:30 Stephen Leighton (Queen’s University): “Aristotle on Fear’s Expression”

18:00 Pascal Engel (University of Geneva): “Epistemic Anxiety and Other Epistemic Emotions”