Itinerary Help Italy, France, Switzerland

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 5th, 2012, 07:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So after having read many posts here I have determined that I am making the classic mistake of trying to do too many things in too short of time. Having acknowledged that I also admit that everything is booked, deposits are made and I can't change that for this trip.

Going on the trip will be myself, my wife and our 14 year old son. We are Artisans by trade, working with decorative cement and are looking for any help on suggestions for places to visit that might have beautiful stone work, or an active artisan community that works with concrete or natural stone. I have selected all of our apartments based on old world feel with stone and custom concrete work and am very happy with what I have found. We travel primary to see historic architecture (stone and concrete in particular), experience the culture, view beautiful landscapes, and eat great food.

So here is our itinerary:

Fly into Rome in September stay four days, on fifth day rent car and head to Tuscany

Staying outside of Vicopisano for five days planning on day trips to hit Florence, Lucca/Pisa, with the other days available for wherever,

Driving to Provence, staying outside of Avignon spending four days there with no definite must sees yet, would like to see old Roman architecture.

On fifth day we will take the TGV to Paris and spend two full days in Paris, (just a quick trip as my wife and I have been there before but my son has not).

TGV back to Avignon early morning and then drive to Lucerne in Switzerland, Stay two more days there with no firm plans yet,

On third day we drive to Venice and drop the rental car, Staying on the island for two days winding down and then fly home early the next day.