Itinerary for October 2011 including the Dolomites and Ligurian Coast

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 13th, 2010, 03:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am in the early stages of planning a 12 night (does not include travel days) trip to Italy for fall of 2011. There will be three couples traveling, all of whom have done the "Big Three" on previous trips with my husband and I.

I have been traveling to Italy since 1974 and the Dolomites and Ligurian coast are two areas that stand out as places I would really like to return to. Everyone has expressed an interest in Emilia-Romagna and the I have always been wanted to visit the Piemonte area. We all want to return to Florence for a short stay of 2 nights if possible. We will be leaving from various airports (NYC, Chicago, Orlando) and meeting in Italy.

I realize we cannot accomplish everything on our list without moving around far too much (which we are not interested in doing) so am looking for itinerary suggestions that would involve a maximum of four hotel changes, and preferably three.

Our interests are food, wine, beautiful scenery. Smaller cities would have more appeal than large. Museums are low on the list for this trip as it will more about indulging in the day to day pleasures of life in Italy.

It is doubtful we will rent a car as no one wishes to take on the responsibility of driving.

We will book open jaw flights to minimize backtracking

I would appreciate any suggestions for possible itineraries that work with our wish list.

Thank you!
Old Jul 13th, 2010, 03:42 PM

Putting everything you have said all together -- time of year and length of travel, the group's interests, the unwillingness to rent a car -- I think your best bet might be Emilia-Romanga plus Liguria (and your 2 nights in Florence) -- all of it doable by train.