Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   itinerary for 2 wks in Ireland -What do you think? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/itinerary-for-2-wks-in-ireland-what-do-you-think-638873/)

readyforadven Aug 13th, 2006 03:59 PM

itinerary for 2 wks in Ireland -What do you think?

I'm new at this so will welcome help, even on threads. This is our first time in Ireland/Europe and we are older travelors. This will be our only trip to Ireland. We are planning a drive vacation from Shannon in September. This is our proposed itinerary.
Day 1 Drive to Doolin stay there
Day 2 See Burren, Cliffs of Mohr stay Doolin
Day 3 Drive to Connemara or just Galway(do bus tour) stay in Clifden or Galway
Day 4 Drive to Tralee stay there
Day 5 Dingle Peninsula stay Tralee
Day 6 Drive to Killarney Nat'l Park stay Kenmare
Day 7 Drive Killarney and area stay Kenmare
Day 8 Drive Mizen Head stay somewhere in area (Skibbereen?)
Day 9 See rest of SW coastline stay Kinsale
Day 10 See W Cork, S coastline stay Yougal
Day 11 Allow for catch up from possible extended stay in previous places
Day 12 Drive Kilkenny, Tipperary stay Limerick
Day 13 ??? see Knappague show stay Ennis
Day 14 ??? see Bunratty stay Ennis
Day 15 fly home
We want the ability to wander so the itinerary may change due to that. What do you think? thanks!

shashie Aug 13th, 2006 10:02 PM

While staying in Galway, I took a day trip (bus tour) of Connemara and it was very nice. Driving gives you more flexibility, but if you want a break from it, the tour was good. This is one company, but I think there are at least 2: http://www.healytours.ie/

If you are going to go to Kenmare after the Dingle Peninsula, there does not seem to be a good reason to go back to Tralee (stay in Dingle) -- maybe someone else will recommend a route from the south of Dingle to Killarney ... via Castlemaine?