Italy Trip September 2019

Mar 3rd, 2019, 05:16 AM
Original Poster

Italy Trip September 2019

We are thinking of booking a flight to Rome from 9/8/19 - 9/26/19. My goal was to rent a car and head south and possibly ending up in Sicily. My wife is set on going to Milan to see the Last Supper and Lake Como. My thought was to rent the car for 2 weeks for the southern portion of the trip and dropping it off in Rome and taking the train to Milan for that portion of the trip.

As background, we have been to Rome and Florence twice and Venice3 times and the Cinque Terrace once. Also, we have taken a number of trips where we have traveled quicker and seen more places than most people would schedule.

We would stay out of Naples with the car. My question whether it would be cheaper to ferry the car to Sicily or park it and rent a car in Sicily. I realize that I would have to check to see if the rental company to see if they allow ferrying the car. I am an experienced driver in Europe and have driven in the mountains in Greece and Croatia.

My thought would be to see Mount Vesuvius and the Amalfi Coast and some of the towns on the southeast coast and do some swimming if we get lucky with the weather.

Any suggestions or input would be appreciated.

Mar 3rd, 2019, 06:24 AM

I think it's about $40 extra to ferry the car but make sure your rental company allows it. Having lived on islands, I know getting on and off car ferries does increase the risk of car damage. I also recommend the highlybregarded AutoEurope as a broker for car rentals. They have great customer service and can easily be reached at their Portland, Maine, offices for questions like this. If the only issue was the ferry cost, I would consider the time and hassle involved in dropping off the car, getting to the ferry, getting from the ferry and re-renting a second car.
Mar 3rd, 2019, 06:56 AM