Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Italy Trip Report (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/italy-trip-report-259567/)

Annie Sep 20th, 2002 01:54 AM

Italy Trip Report

I am not very good with the computer and tried to paste this but it did not work so I will try to type it all over.<BR>ROME- Left from Philadelphia on Sept.1 on US Airways on the most cramped plane I have ever been on. The good news was you can watch 6 movies from your seat. We were picked up at the airport by a car sent from Residenza Cellini (06-478-2504) on Via Modena (160E for junior suite). Very small and charming, only 6 rooms run by the De Paolis brothers. Had a quick shower and off to the Pantheon. I went to high school in Rome, many years ago and wanted to search out an old haunt for lunch. La Sacrestia is great for thin pizza and pasta on Via del Seminario. Later a delicious gelato at Giolittis.<BR> Traveling with a couple who had never been to Italy so trying to give them quick overview of the city. We climbed the Victor Emmanuel monument for a gorgeous view of Roma and then on to the Forum and Colosseum. It never fails to thrill me to see those felled columns and ancient stones.<BR>Made sure we got some shots of my husband and I with Colosseum in the background in order to make our own postcards with blank cards from Eckerds to send to family that would have us on it. You can address them in the U.S. before you leave.<BR> Hot day but pushed on to see the Moses, get all our train tickets settled at a travel agency, and then out to dinner at Myosotis, Via della Vaccarella(o6-686-5554) which was quite good, but rather formal. Took an ambien that night.

Annie Sep 20th, 2002 02:09 AM