Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Italy: Plan your own vs Travel Agent (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/italy-plan-your-own-vs-travel-agent-952265/)

mhazli Oct 1st, 2012 03:41 AM

Italy: Plan your own vs Travel Agent

This is my first time visiting Europe and I'm planning a trip to Italy end of this month (October) with my wife and 3 kids (aged 6,4,2).

My draft itinerary as follows:
1st day (Thu): Arrive Rome afternoon (Free and easy)
2nd day (Fri): Colloseum Walking Tour and other places on the 101 Tourist bus
3rd day (Sat): Travel to Florence; Visit Uzzi (4 hours walking tour)
4th day (Sun): Day trip to Pisa.
5th Day (Mon): Travel to Venice, free and easy
6th Day (Tue): Venice (3 hours walking tour)
7th Day (Wed): Travel to Milan (Free and Easy maybe visit Duomo)
8th Day (Thu): Day trip to Lake Como
9th Day (Fri): Free and easy and depart from Milan

I've got a quote from a travel agent for the above itinerary which plan and book every single thing of my trip for of course slightly more (around USD 6,000) which includes 3* accommodation, meet and greet, train tickets, transportation to and from hotel, guided walking tour at each city and a car with driver to Lake Como.

I was thinking that maybe i could save some money by planning the trip on my own but i'm not sure if i can plan it smoothly and need advice/tips/hints on the following.

1) Any tips on how to book the train tickets. Are they really strict on the timing? How do i book for a family so that we can seat together? Do i get a ticket or just use the print-out to board the trains?

2) On accommodation, i don't know if finding one which is near to the train station is suitable. I've read mixed reviews concerning the safety of the hotels near train stations.