Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Italy Itinerary - Please help (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/italy-itinerary-please-help-939852/)

leia0602 Jun 20th, 2012 09:21 AM

Italy Itinerary - Please help

I'm just beginning to plan a trip to Italy for my husband and I. We plan to go in early June 2013 and stay for 15 days. I'm on information overload and don't know where to begin.

Our favorite trips are ones where we allow enough time to experience a place, not just go from one "must-see" museum or sight to the next at a frantic pace.

We love history, anything food related (eating, cooking, learning how a food is made), museums (DH is not a huge fan of art museums, but will spend some time there), markets, architecture, shopping, beautiful countrysides or waterways.

We prefer not to drive, and would instead enjoy taking a train or bus from one place to another.

This will be my husband's first time in Europe. 10 years ago I visited Russia and France, but I've never been to Italy.

All ideas and itineraries would be appreciated!

Jean Jun 20th, 2012 10:46 AM

Wow. What an open-ended question. I suggest you get a guidebook or two and start reading about Italy to find what interests the two of you most (as opposed to what all of us here like). For a relatively small country (smaller than California), it has an enormous number of wonderful sightseeing opportunities. Your problem will not be 'what to see' but 'what to leave out.'

Things to think about while you read about Italy:

1) For those who don't want a frantic pace, consider 3-4 hotels in 15 days. Every time you move from hotel to hotel, you lose a half day or more.

2) Consider flying into one city and out of another city and check your flight options before you finalize the itinerary. Flights to the U.S. from Venice, for example, can be crack-of-dawn hassles.