Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Italy & Greece shore excursions (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/italy-and-greece-shore-excursions-1664286/)

lewisd820 Mar 2nd, 2019 06:16 AM

Italy & Greece shore excursions

My wife and I will be celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary in August stopping at the following ports:
Rome
Catania, Sicily
Valletta, Malta
Santorini
Athens
Mykonos
Nauplion
Katakolon
Naples
This is a once in a lifetime vacation and would appreciate any feed back on must see excursions at these ports

crellston Mar 2nd, 2019 06:34 AM

You would be better posting this on the Europe forum. This is for Asia.

lewisd820 Mar 2nd, 2019 07:47 AM

thanks as you can see I am new to this

Moderator3 Mar 2nd, 2019 11:56 AM

Moved to Europe board

HappyTrvlr Mar 2nd, 2019 12:21 PM

Have you looked at. Cruise Critic?
Catania, Sicily- go north to Mt. Etna and Taormina or south to Ortigia/Siracusa
Santorini- it will be very very crowded. Go to Oia. See Caldera views. Ancient Akrotiri. Cruise ship passengers will ride a gondola up and down the cliffs. Prepare to stand in long lines, hot.
Athens- arrange a guide to take you to Acropolis, Agora, Acropolis Museum, National Archeological Museum.
Mykonos-walk around Mykonos Town, wander the crooked alleyways, visit Little Venice, see the Windmills. If you have enough time, take a boat to Delos, rhe small island, archeological site, where Apollo and his twin Artemis were supposed to have been born.
Napflion- enjoy this charming waterfront town, castles. If time allows go outside of town to visit the ruins of the ancient Mycenae (Agamemnon) and the theater of Epidavros. One of the prettiest towns in Greece.
Katakolon- go to ancient Olympia! The torch for all Olympic games is still lit there. Goosebumps.