Italy Amber Road Tours

Nov 30th, 2008, 10:29 PM
nks
Original Poster

Italy Amber Road Tours

Has anyone travelled with Amber Road Tours in Italy? Their itinerary sounds great and the group size is limited to 16 people.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Dec 1st, 2008, 10:14 AM

Most of the posters on this board are independent travelers.

Have you looked for info on tripadvisor.com? Or googled for info?
Dec 1st, 2008, 09:03 PM
nks
Original Poster

Thanks nytraveler, my husband and I have never used a group tour before and I emailed on the chance that someone had heard of them.
Feb 21st, 2009, 01:33 PM

We traveled with them in 2006 when they were called Backroad Tuscany Tours. It's the same company but they have expanded and now do more than just Tuscany and Umbria. We were disappointed in our tour guide, Lucca. At the time, I believe, he was their only tour guide since it was a smaller company then. Lucca was very personable but didn't have any knowledge of the history of the area and didn't seem interested in learning. The hotels used were nice except for the 1st one, which most people complained about. The itinerary was good. In hindsight, we wish we had gone with another company to get a better guide.
Jun 1st, 2010, 10:08 AM