Italian Fashionistas

Aug 15th, 2011, 05:09 PM
Original Poster

Italian Fashionistas

Hi,
We're heading to Sardinia, Sicily and a little Rome in mid-Sept to early Oct, and I'm debating about what type of (women's) pants to bring. I really hate to bring jeans because they're heavy, hotter, and take long to dry....but is that what most people wear? (I'm in my mid-50's) My other options are a taupe cotton/stretch and lightweight black slacks. The jeans I'd bring are gray with lycra also in them.
Mostly, I plan to wear a casual dress or skirt during the day.
I appreciate your fashion feedback!
Aug 15th, 2011, 08:13 PM

I'm not a fashion expert but if you're planning to wear a skirt or dress during the day, I would opt for light weight, washable-drip-dryable black slacks at night. We were in Italy this summer and saw both black and white skinny pants and capris -- not so many jeans. Although I sometimes travel with a brown wardrobe, black is elegant, doesn't show soil, goes with virtually everything and is, IMO, the perfect travel item.
Aug 15th, 2011, 09:13 PM

Bring
a casual dress
a skirt
taupe cotton/stretch pants
lightweight black slacks
and a pair of jeans

YOu'll have all the "bottoms' you need and a nice selection.

In fact, I may bring exactly this selection to Paris in November, but I'll make my pants a little warmer.
Aug 15th, 2011, 11:01 PM

Tuscan has one "bottom" too many (apostrophes carefully inserted) and I think it's the jeans. No need for anything so heavy in early Oct.
Aug 16th, 2011, 04:11 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for all your comments. As much as I like the look of dressier jeans, I don't like sitting in them for hours! So, I think I'll skip the jeans...now I need to cut down the number of casual dresses...I was bringing 3 (sundress types) a skirt and a dressier dress....but we are going for 5 weeks!
Aug 16th, 2011, 05:52 AM

Nights canbe cooler so a light weight sweater should be added
Aug 16th, 2011, 07:09 AM