Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Italian Fashionistas (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/italian-fashionistas-902833/)

barefootbeach Aug 15th, 2011 06:09 PM

Italian Fashionistas

Hi,
We're heading to Sardinia, Sicily and a little Rome in mid-Sept to early Oct, and I'm debating about what type of (women's) pants to bring. I really hate to bring jeans because they're heavy, hotter, and take long to dry....but is that what most people wear? (I'm in my mid-50's) My other options are a taupe cotton/stretch and lightweight black slacks. The jeans I'd bring are gray with lycra also in them.
Mostly, I plan to wear a casual dress or skirt during the day.
I appreciate your fashion feedback!

crckwc1 Aug 15th, 2011 09:13 PM

I'm not a fashion expert but if you're planning to wear a skirt or dress during the day, I would opt for light weight, washable-drip-dryable black slacks at night. We were in Italy this summer and saw both black and white skinny pants and capris -- not so many jeans. Although I sometimes travel with a brown wardrobe, black is elegant, doesn't show soil, goes with virtually everything and is, IMO, the perfect travel item.

tuscanlifeedit Aug 15th, 2011 10:13 PM

Bring
a casual dress
a skirt
taupe cotton/stretch pants
lightweight black slacks
and a pair of jeans

YOu'll have all the "bottoms' you need and a nice selection.

In fact, I may bring exactly this selection to Paris in November, but I'll make my pants a little warmer.

tarquin Aug 16th, 2011 12:01 AM

Tuscan has one "bottom" too many (apostrophes carefully inserted) and I think it's the jeans. No need for anything so heavy in early Oct.

barefootbeach Aug 16th, 2011 05:11 AM