Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Is there a Website to find a House Sitter? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/is-there-a-website-to-find-a-house-sitter-216864/)

Marcie May 8th, 2002 05:19 AM

Is there a Website to find a House Sitter?

Hubby and I are traveling in August and don't know where to begin to<BR> find a house sitter. Are there So. Cal publications(maybe through large Pet<BR> stores, colleges, travel agents)? Are there some USA/European web sites?<BR> Don't know where to begin as I've never done this before. What has your<BR> experience been? Did you get references or ask for a refundable security<BR> deposit? I know there are web sites for house exchanges but I've never heard of<BR> any for finding a house sitter. I'd appreciate any suggestions as to where to<BR> begin. Thanks, Marcie

Betty May 8th, 2002 06:33 AM

I have never used this service but here's a website I ran across a few months back.<BR><BR>http://www.housecarers.com/<BR><BR>Good luck!

bobbie May 8th, 2002 06:37 AM

My experience was having my dog walker stay at our house while we were away and of course we paid her. I also have a friend who had one of her daughter's teachers stay at her house so in both cases we knew the persons. Word of mouth seems the safest way to go.

Mavis May 8th, 2002 01:26 PM

Would be interested in knowing if anyone has housesat for someone off housesitters.com or hired someone?

Suzy May 8th, 2002 01:40 PM