Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Is Idol Hotel by Elegancia centrally located?

Old Mar 8th, 2015, 03:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone,

I am planning to visit Paris for 3 nights (effectively 2.5 days) in end of April. I have zeroed on Idol Hotel by Elegancia which is in 8th Arr for my stay. Would like to know from you if this is the right choice as far as the location goes. Are the major attractions easily accessible from there?

Also since this is my first time in Paris. Can you suggest the must sees in 2.5 days.

I am confused on whether to go to the Louvre or not. Will it be feasible to do in my time frame? Would there be huge lines in end of April since it would be the start of the tourist season?

As far as Eiffel goes, should we go upto the top of the tower or the 2nd floor?

Does it make more sense to book all the tour tickets in advance/ or on the spot? Which will be the best sites to book the entry tickets if I were to book in advance? How can I book the airport pick up? Is it equally convenient (cost wise too) to take a cab or a shuttle at the airport without prior booking?

Thanks

Shveta
Old Mar 8th, 2015, 03:19 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Well there is a nearby Metro so you can get around to the high spots. Not where I'd stay but not impossible. I prefer 5, 6 or 7

This may help http://goparis.about.com/od/transpor..._and_Buses.htm

Yes the Louvre, also the D'Orsay, the Museum of Islamic art, the Churches on the Ile de cite plus the deportation monument http://independenttravelcats.com/201...la-cite-paris/

Then there is tonnes more and it really depends on you wants and needs. You can fill in a good week without leaving the city.

Tourist season in Paris is pretty much 12 months long but April is not a big kick unless you hit a school holiday period (Easter?). Booking tickets get you around the queues. Up the Eiffel tower, a bit meh but up to others.