Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Is connecting through London (Heathrow) really so bad?

Sep 14th, 2007, 10:59 AM
Original Poster

I've been planning an itinerary for Europe that may or may not include a change of planes in London (probably Heathrow). As I understand it, traveling OUT of London airports, you can bring only a small personal item (laptop bag) as described on the British Airways website.

Has this been a major hassle for people? I'm a photographer and bringing major gear to Europe with me. In the past I've carried both the laptop and the camera bag as carry-ons. Can't do that anymore - will have to check it (at least the lenses - can probably stuff the camera in my laptop bag) in my luggage, and that makes me nervous.

How is Heathrow to connect through these days? I haven't been there since 2000 but remember it being a huge maze. Went through Gatwick in 2005 and found it much better but that's not in the cards this time...
Sep 14th, 2007, 11:06 AM

You can take a regular-sized carryon through UK airports. But just one piece. Not another "personal item".

To me, it's absolutely crazy to put a lens in checked luggage. Unless you really hate that lens and just wouldn't throw it in the trash yourself.

Nothing valuable or non-replaceable ever goes into checked bags.
Sep 14th, 2007, 11:09 AM

you should be able to get the lenses/laptop and some personal items through LHR. One is only allowed 1 item through security, but it can be a full-sized carry-on. So if you have a carry on sized duffle or rollaboard that can hold the lenses/laptop/ etc that would work. After clearing security, you can take take the stuff out and carry more than one item on to the plane.
Sep 14th, 2007, 11:21 AM

<<< As I understand it, traveling OUT of London airports, you can bring only a small personal item (laptop bag) as described on the British Airways website. >>>