Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Ireland Itinerary (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/ireland-itinerary-610390/)

joyhousebryan Apr 24th, 2006 08:23 PM

Ireland Itinerary

Hello all,
I'm wondering if some of you with experience in Ireland could give a look at my plans, and give any recommendations, suggestions, realistic expectations.... I am going on my honeymoon to Ireland for a week. Its my first time, and my main goal is relaxing. We're planning on playing most of the activities by ear, not trying to see everything, just enjoy Ireland, the people and places. I haven't made reservations for anything except the last night, and I plan to make a reservation for our first night in Kinsale, then wing it thereafter. So, my here's my initial plan:

May 31 arrive in Shannon about noon, pick up our car and drive to Kinsale, spend 2 nights, enjoy some good food, and relax.

June 2 leave Kinsale, drive around the Ring of Kerry (thought of going to Skellig Michael), stay in Dingle
June 3 head for and stay in Connemara, (or somewhere in the vicinty of the cliffs of moher, maybe Doolin)

June 4 haven't decided whether to stay around the area or to stay on Inishmore, a friend of mine loved Inishmore and comes highly recommended, thought?

June 5 we'll eventually head for Glin Castle where we are staying our last night

June 6 Depart Shannon at 1pm

Any recommendations for these areas or other ideas are totally welcome. I figured if we kind of hit 3 main areas in the week it would be doable, but please let me know if its not! Thanks!!!

bryan

IrishEyes Apr 24th, 2006 08:39 PM

bryan,

I just replied to your other post. This is what I said:

June 2 - 5 is a bank holiday weekend. Make your reservations for that time period especially for Dingle.