Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

International Health Insurance - should I buy it?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 4th, 2007, 04:21 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Traveling with my husband, who some months ago had a serious heart attack while traveling in the US, doing well and able to travel without apparent problems.

We have BC/BS in the US (I work in health care/hospital). I have read that emergency rooms have signs (Paris, Madrid)indicating that services are not covered by your insurance and bills must be paid by cash or credit card.

Should we be buying international health insurance? I just want to have peace of mind without overdoing it.

Thanks!
Old Jun 4th, 2007, 04:28 AM

I have no idea what your current policy covers, and this is not the place to ask. Ask your insurer.

Hospitals in Europe have no advance idea what any individual attendee's insurance cover is, so a sign saying that the service is not covered by insurance is nonsense. What might arise -- and what I suspect the notices really mean -- is that the hospitals do not have arrangements with overseas insurers for direct payment, so they want the patient to settle the account and then the patient can deal with the insurer.
Old Jun 4th, 2007, 04:48 AM

BC/BS does have "network" hospitals in Europe, which can be used for certain types of policies. If you're covered abroad make sure to get a list of their hospitals and keep it with you.
Old Jun 4th, 2007, 05:12 AM

If the biggest risk is a possible repeat infarct (heart attack) there is no WAY you will be able to "pick and choose" which hospital your husband is taken to since the nearest medical facility (hopefully with the capability of dealing with this sort of emergency) is the one that should be used, whether or not it might be participating in any sort of insurance plan.