Insurance? Car Rental beginner :)

Sep 14th, 2000, 09:16 AM
Debbie

Insurance? Car Rental beginner :)

Hi
My trip to Ireland in November will be my first time renting a car outside of the US.

I have a Platinum MasterCard, so I shouldn't need to get the CDW from the car rental place right?
Has anyone had any problems with using a credit card for this coverage, in the case that a claim is made?
Is there any other insurance that I should get?
I have heard that side mirrors become traffic casualties with great regularity.

Thanks for all your help
Debbie

Sep 14th, 2000, 09:43 AM
Richard

My daughter and son-in-law just returned from Ireland. They rented a car thru Thrifty and used a platinum card but Thrifty demanded they buy insurance while a friend, also using platinum, rented from a different company with no such demand. In short, check with the rental companies when you check rates. I think you may have to buy theft insurance, mandatory in Ireland. Be sure to try Autoeurope and Kemwel for rates.

Sep 14th, 2000, 09:50 AM
xxx

Most credit cards cover collision insurance, though some do not do so internationally. Check with your issuer. Also, your regular liability insurance should cover you with an international rental, but you need to check to be sure. If you do not drive in the US and therefore do not have this insurance, you need to purchase it with the rantal agency.

Sep 14th, 2000, 09:55 AM
love2trvl

Hi Debbie:
My recent experience (8/00) was do not use Avis. Try Budget or a local Company like Dan Dooly. Avis refused to honor a written confirmation and after some convincing that the reservation was for real they then told me that I would have pay 300 irish pounds for CDW! Forget that! Stepped over to Budget. Car, no problem. Platimum MasterCard, no extra charge for CDW. You can check a few other counters when you get there. Have a great time!

Sep 14th, 2000, 10:03 AM
Peter