Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

In Ireland would you tour the Cliffs of Moher OR the Ring of Kerry?

Old Jan 29th, 2006, 08:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am reposting this question with a more specific title in hopes for a better response. Unfortunatly, I'm new to using the forum so I don't know how to edit my original post.

My husband and I will be flying into Shannon April 29th about 10:00 a.m. We will be staying at a B&B in Bunratty and plan on visiting Bunratty Castle & Folk Park. Bunratty castle is the only thing I planned for that day since I anticipate jet lag. The next day I would like to hire a private guide to take us for a scenic drive along the coast. Late that afternoon we need to catch a train for our 3 night stay in Newcastle so we don't have much time. My thought was to have the guide take us along the Cliffs of Moher, lunch at Doolin and drop us at the Galway train station. I don't know how long of a drive that would be so is that even doable? I've also heard a lot of great things about the Ring of Kerry. Would that be a better option? Is that doable as a partial day trip? Any other suggestions would be welcome.

Old Jan 29th, 2006, 08:34 AM

The Ring of Kerry would be out of the question for what you are thinking about.

Can't help you with a driver/guide to take you to Galway. You should be able to find one fairly easy.

I would visit the Cliffs in the morning, ride thru the Burren, then have lunch at Monk's Pub in Ballyvaughn prior to heading to Galway to catch your train.
Old Jan 29th, 2006, 09:17 AM

No contest: Cliffs of Moher!!!

Ring of Kerry is pretty... doesn't have the dramatic 'waves crashing against tall limestone cliffs' effect that Cliffs of Moher do. I wished that we could have spent more time there.
Old Jan 29th, 2006, 03:13 PM
CU