Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

SIM card purchase at MAD (Madrid airport)?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2nd, 2012, 03:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I will be arriving in Madrid after an Iberia flight from NYC. For the very first time, I am bringing my (new) unlocked cell phone, and will need to purchase a SIM card. I am a total novice, never having done this before, and actually never (gasp!) having used a cell phone in Europe before.

What is the most convenient place to do this at the airport?

Is there anything I need to know before buying the card? (In case it is pertinent, I expect that my use of the phone will be very limited..during a two-week-plus visit to Spain, I expect to use it only to book restaurant reservations, call for directions, and any unforeseen emergencies during the few days that I will have a rental car...).

Thanks!!
Old Oct 2nd, 2012, 09:18 AM

For get getting one at the airport. You should wait until you get into the city. I don't know where you are staying (Salamanca?), but there is a MoviStar store at Porta de Alcalá, Plaza de la Independencia, 6, where you can purchase the sim and they will help you set it up. All you'll need is your passport and credit card. There is another MoviStar store at Calle de Serrano, 61 (www.movistar.es), as well as smaller stores around the city.

Vodafone is also a good option, but MoviStar seems to have better coverage.

You can also order a sim through Spain Sim (www.spainsim.com/index.htm) and have your number before leaving home.
Old Oct 2nd, 2012, 09:32 AM

Another option which I used earlier this year is getting a Spain Orange sim card on Ebay. The seller registered it for me (I think I had to provide passport info).
Old Oct 2nd, 2012, 10:43 AM

I compared several different services this spring with internet. The answer might be different if you are only looking for voice.