Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

I'm flying to Manchester in a month on American -- should I worry/cancel?

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 02:29 PM
xxx

Hello.
I'm scheduled to leave on a flight to Manchester in mid-October on American Airlines. It appears their website is saying you can cancel should you desire, but it isn't clear as if it's flights in the next two weeks, etc.

Maybe I'm worrying needlessly? My instinct is to go if it's possible.

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 02:34 PM
Deb

You're worrying needlessly! I'm an agent. The airlines are offering people scheduled to travel between Sept. 11 and Sept. 25 a full refund or a re-schedule without penalty, not anybody traveling after Sept. 25. I think by the time you will be traveling things will be back to a semi-normal state. Please don't panic and take your flight.
We Americans need to show the world that nothing can keep us down!!

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 02:40 PM
go

You'll see in a few weeks (god, i hope) that you will be able to take your flight very safely. You will notice many things different at the aeropuerto i am sure, but you will be fine. Of course, if I am wrong, you will know that by then too. let's just hope I am correct.

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 05:16 PM
x

where are you learning about refunds? I didn't see any info on refunds on the united website. do we need to call and ask? we have tix in a month but we would prefer not to go.
no one knows if it will be safer or safer or okay to fly, you just need to do what makes you feel comfortable. for us, this tragedy has been very upsetting. we will reschedule for a much later time. for the travel agent, have the airlines said refunds are only for Sept??

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 05:30 PM
peter