Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

If you were an artist in Tuscany, what would you paint?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 24th, 2008, 06:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am an artist visiting Southern Tuscany in October. I work primarily in watercolor and plan on bringing camera, sketch books, and some paints and paper, though I'll do most of my painting when I return home. After a trip to Provence last fall, I returned and completed watercolors of poppy fields, Roussillon, and Bonnieux.

Some of you may remember that I asked this question for previous trips to Italy and France. Both times that I asked this question, I got fascinating answers. I actually saw things that I think I wouldn't have noticed without your help. Someone mentioned umbrellas in their stands outside cafes. Someone else talked about the campaniles, the metal bell towers of the churches of Provence. Others mentioned the wonderful doors and window , and I'm currently in the middle of a colored pencil drawing from several doors of Provence.

As an artist, I have always thought that I am observant, but I've come to realize that, in a foreign country, in particular, I miss all sorts of things. If I'm in the car, I'm navigating, and don't know where there might wonderful vistas. Or there might be a wonderful village I miss while I'm looking at that map (we are taking a GPS this time!). There might be some architectural details that are specific to an area.
So, I thought I'd ask those of you who know Tuscany so well- what would you paint if you were an artist?
Old Aug 24th, 2008, 06:43 AM

My wife is the watercolorist and I am the photographer.

I always shoot what other people aren't. And if I do shoot the same, I must find a different perspective.

If you need someone to tell you what to paint, then you need to gain confidence in your own judgment. Unless your sole intention is to sell your work and want to poll what others like.