Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

If I want to use FF miles to go to Switzerland and France in May/June how soon do I need to book the tickets?

If I want to use FF miles to go to Switzerland and France in May/June how soon do I need to book the tickets?

May 18th, 2007, 08:55 AM
Original Poster

I'm pretty new to the whole ff award ticket situation so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

As of right now we are looking at spending our time in Switzerland and the Burgundy region of France and will probably fly into Milan (to go to the lakes) and out of Lyon if possible. I don't mind booking right away but DH wants to wait in case we change our minds on where we want to go. I see comments on here about people booking their flights 330 days out, so I'm just worried that if we wait too long there won't be any awards seats left in the time frame that we want to go. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any/all advice or suggestions!
Tracy
May 18th, 2007, 09:53 AM

I have been told 11 months.
May 18th, 2007, 09:58 AM

Assuming you mean May/June 2008 you can't book any sooner than 330 days out. The airlines don't load their schedules into their res systems earlier than that.

If you mean May/June 2007 you're cutting it a little tight.
May 18th, 2007, 10:07 AM

First, check and see what the fee is for changing a FF ticket on your airline. If it is reasonable, book the tickets as soon as you can.

I fly Delta and they used to release all tickets 331 days in advance. Recently, they have stopped releasing coach tickets for the route I need to take (London to Cincinnati). They only release business that far in advance and they may or may not ever release the coach. So if you can get your hands on coach tickets, by all means I would snap them up and pay the fee later (which $50 on Delta) if something else better opens up that you would rather do.
May 18th, 2007, 12:00 PM
Original Poster