Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Ideas for safe car travel in Croatia / Montenegro

Jan 26th, 2010, 05:34 PM
Original Poster

I am working on an itinerary for a ~10 days car drive in Adriatics. As a driver, I would like to enjoy my vacation, too, so I am trying to avoid very narrow serpentine roads as much as it is possible. Is it a realistic goal - to have a scenic drive in that part of the world but stay on decent roads ? If yes - what itinerary would you suggest ?
Jan 27th, 2010, 06:24 AM

I don't think so--the most scenic roads are curvy and on cliffs. If that worries you, enjoy the ride in a bus--you can still rent a car to explore within a limited area, such as on an island.
Give some more details about where you are going to enter and depart the country from.
Jan 27th, 2010, 06:46 AM

I should also add that you can get good road info from viamichelin--zoom in on the roads with google maps to get a better idea.
Jan 27th, 2010, 05:01 PM

I drove from Split to Dubrovnik and it was surprisingly "unscary". If you've ever driven US1, you'll be fine. If you are going too slow the drivers will pass you. You can also take the new highway. Good road, great tunnels, lousy scenery.
Jan 27th, 2010, 07:56 PM
Original Poster

Thanks guys. viamichelin.com does not seem to support Croatia. "Danger" is in the eye of the beholder, of course; if a road has enough width to accomodate 2 standard European lanes even on its sharpest turns, and has some kind of continuous fence on the valley side, I would call it totally safe. I checked out some videos of Jadranska Magistrala, and it seems safe enough, at least in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3O3VktNq4tA
Jan 28th, 2010, 06:50 AM