Search

I'm a Newbie

Search this Thread

Old Jun 24th, 2006, 07:11 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm a Newbie

I heard you are a rough crowd so may I please ask these questions?

What is the correct way to head a post?

What is the correct way to word a post?

Must I read several quide books and do research online before asking questions?

Thank you
Old Jun 24th, 2006, 07:21 PM

Welcome to Fodor's, travelaway! Where on earth did you hear that we're a rough crowd? Actually we're as soft as butter and very willing to answer your travel questions, well most of us fit that description. For tips on posting, read the FAQ at:

http://www.fodors.com/forums/faqs.cfm

Old Jun 24th, 2006, 07:24 PM

No, it is not a rough crowd. There are just a few rough people in it.

The correct way to head a post is to be as specific as possible. Example of a bad heading: "HELP!" Example of a good heading: "Looking for a good Paris hotel under 150 Euros" (after which, you explain in your message that you have already researched previous threads on this subject.)

You do not have to read several guides and do research online before asking questions, but there is not a lot of patience for people who prefer to do NOTHING except ask questions without looking at even the most basic information that is available.

You're welcome.
Old Jun 24th, 2006, 07:30 PM
rex

See http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34820174

Best wishes,

Rex
Old Jun 24th, 2006, 07:38 PM

It is not so much that Fodorites are a rough crowd as it is a large crowd so there is a rough minority, but most of us are marshmallows, really, and we all were newbies at one time. So ultimately, like your favorite college prof. would say, "the only dumb question is the one you don't ask."
Head a post - boil your question down to 4 or 5 words
Word a post - be specific and give us as much info about where you are at with your decision making as you can.