Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

(I Don't Want to be) Clueless in the Cotswolds

Jul 3rd, 2010, 10:18 AM
Original Poster

I am thrilled to be planning a week long trip to the Cotswolds in September! Let me preface my post with this: I am new to Fodors so I apologize in advance for any posting faux-pas. Secondly, I live in Orlando, Florida and tourists are a huge part of my life. I am extremely grateful to them because they pay the bills in my household, however, I have first-hand experience with uninformed tourists! In an effort to be as well-informed as possible, I would love some advice from you kind people.

My mother (age 58), my sister (age 26) and myself (age 28) are planning a week long trip to the Cotswolds in mid to late September. This will be a girls-getaway as well as a scouting trip to return for a longer stay with my kids next year. We will be choosing a self-catering cottage as a home base and exploring from there. We will NOT be renting a car-- I know from previous research that most people feel that this is not a wise decision. I understand that this means we will probably miss out on some amazing things, but I feel confident that there will be plenty to see and enjoy and explore by foot, particularly considering that we only have a week and this is everyone's first time to the UK. My questions for you are this....

1. During this time of year, how crowded should we expect the area to be? Based on the rental rates, September is considered high or mid season. We are hoping for some quiet. Do places begin to close in anticipation of low season?
2. I have researched weather averages, but I would like to know if anyone can advise about the usual weather during that time.
3. A bit embarrassing to ask, but what's the scoop on public restrooms? As I already mentioned, we plan to walk a lot and since the trip consists of three girls, well... you know!