Hustlers Outside and In the Colisseum

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 31st, 2005, 10:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We returned from a great trip to Rome in July. It is a wonderful city with friendly people.

Two exceptions are the clowns dressed as gladiators outside the Colisseum who, holding swords, arrogantly grab you, take a photo and charge 10 euros for your trouble. Pass them all by.

Also, we had a tour organized inside the Colisseum for english-speaking tourists. First,the guide's mike did not work. She then continually quoted from a history book like she had boned up the night before. When I innocently mentioned that many of the gladiators were prisoners of war she looked at me astonished. Later, she pulled me aside and asked "If I was a professor?"

Best to arrange your Colisseum tour through your hotel or with some professional organization that can guaranty a decent experience.
Old Aug 31st, 2005, 10:15 AM

Again, it's like anywhere you goes these days...in both of those situations no one is forcing you to pay for the photo or to take the tour. Hopefully they didn't spoil your trip or your opinion of such a wonderful city.
Old Aug 31st, 2005, 10:18 AM

one last thing, your hotel cannot guarentee any kind of experience with an organized tour. Usually there is some sort of business arrangement made between the tour company and the hotel, so the hotel would promote one tour group over the other. There's no way to know what to really expect unless your get personal opinions from people before hand, with a tour guide's name.
Old Aug 31st, 2005, 10:33 AM