how to carry money

Old Sep 16th, 1998, 12:10 PM
Amita

how to carry money

This is such a basic question I can't believe I'm asking it but...here goes.

In a couple of days I'm leaving for Ireland. I haven't been abroad in 5 years. I was going to take a fanny pack with me, but now I'm worrying that that looks too touristy. I've done it before and carried it like a shoulder bag. I just want to keep my hands free for the light hiking I'm going to be doing. I've heard a lot about money belts but I have to admit I don't understand the concept...do you have to reach down your pants to get the money out? I'm going to be staying in B&Bs so security shouldn't be much of a problem. We'll be spending most of our time in the country. The only city we're going to hit is Galway. I'm also taking a neck pouch for my passport to wear under my shirt.

Or should I just carry a pocketbook like my mother is doing?

Thanks in advance. When I was traveling as a student I didn't think twice about this...

Old Sep 16th, 1998, 12:16 PM
Donna

Hi, Amita: This is a great question and you will receive many different answers. I usually take a very slender purse with a skinny strap, just large enough for the passport, money, my glasses/case, and a lipstick. Eagle River makes one. I wear it over my shirt cross chest, but under my jacket (ladies' suit-type jacket). It is usually hidden by the jacket, I can put my hand on it over the jacket, and I have had good luck with it. I have also used the money belt. Usually take out enough money for the purse before leaving my room, but have had occasion to dig into the belt at the store . . . oh, well. Fanny pack just won't do for me, and a big purse is too much like carrying a suitcase.
Best wishes!

Old Sep 16th, 1998, 06:38 PM
Gene

J.C. Penney's carries good quality money