How safe are airport lockers?

Old Apr 15th, 2003, 06:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How safe are airport lockers?

Hi, everybody!<BR><BR>I'm studying at Cambridge for 5 weeks this summer, and at the end, I'm going to Italy for a relaxing week before heading home. It's beginning to look like I'll need my laptop in Cambridge for note-taking and exams (they're written law exams, and my handwriting is atrocious), as we won't have access to our college computer lab. <BR><BR>My question is this: How safe would it be to stash my laptop in an airport locker in either London or Rome while I take my week's vacation? Would I be nuts to trust that my computer would still be there when I get back? I know that, theoretically, I'd be the only person with a key, but I'm still not sure how prudent putting $1800 worth of computer in one of those things would be. <BR><BR>Thanks in advance!
Old Apr 15th, 2003, 07:05 PM

I don't think there are lockers anymore in airports overseas..........due to heightened security. I know there are none in London Gatwick anymore, and have heard this seems to be the case in others. I believe there are some &quot;holding rooms&quot;, or something like that, that you could possibly leave your things.
Old Apr 15th, 2003, 07:10 PM
Original Poster

Oh no! In that case, does anyone know how secure these holding rooms are? I could possibly stash my computer at a friend's flat in Cambridge, but a) that would mean coming all the way back to Cambridge to get my computer before flying home, and b) there's a chance my friend will be away when I come back to get the computer. Argh!
Old Apr 15th, 2003, 07:38 PM