How do you say in Italian...

Jun 6th, 2011, 03:05 AM
Original Poster

How do you say in Italian...

I'm about to go to Italy for the first time and am trying to pick up a little of the language. Being a total novice at Italian, I'll have some basic words and phases memorized, but I know I'll botch the pronunciation of place names or just reading from a restaurant menu. So my question is - what's a casual/colloquial way of saying "excuse my (undoubtedly-incorrect) pronunciation"?
Jun 6th, 2011, 03:49 AM

Just about all guide books have a pronunciation key in the back of the book plus some basic phrases. I suggest you get a book or two from the library and copy the pages. Libraries also have language CDs so you can hear the way Italian is spoken before you leave.

I don't think you should speak "casual" Italian to people you meet unless they invite you to do so. Best to stick with formal phrases.
Jun 6th, 2011, 04:05 AM

I think you could say it a couple of ways:

Chiedo scusa per la mia brutta pronuncia.
Mi scusi la brutta pronuncia.

I agree with Adrienne about using the formal forms and phrases.

Enjoy your time in Italy! My experience has been that the people there appreciate our efforts to speak Italian.
Jun 6th, 2011, 04:13 AM

Here's your real problem: What if you badly mispronounce "Mi scusi la brutta pronuncia"?
Jun 6th, 2011, 05:07 AM

<>

Then you'll have to say "Excuse me" in Italian until you get it right, and that could be a nightmare.
Jun 6th, 2011, 05:27 AM

Learn the polite phrases, and you'll be fine. If the person you want to speak with can speak English, he/she will be pleased that you made the effort to learn the polite words. If he/she doesn't, there's not much point in beginning a dialogue.

After all, it would be useless to learn how to say "Dove il stazione, per favore?" (Where's the train station, please?") if you won't be able to understand the person's answer.
Jun 6th, 2011, 05:48 AM

Hi