Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

How can a photographer focus on doing his best work and be safe in Spain?

Oct 18th, 2007, 04:19 AM
Original Poster

I have read a great deal about the pick pocketing and even recently about muggings in Madrid. On our upcoming trip, my wife and I will be try to use all the advice presented on this forum and elsewhere when sightseeing.

However, I am a professional photographer with a focus on producing quality photo art. For me, capturing images of wherever I go are one of the major pleasures of traveling. I often go out early to take advantage of the morning’s soft light, usually working from a tripod. Even when I am sightseeing I look for photographic opportunities. Always I am totally absorbed by the scene I am capturing. And, the equipment I carry is definitely at the higher end of the price scale. I will try to be very careful and aware of who is around me but if I had to constrain myself too much, it would take a lot of pleasure out of visiting Spain. So I recognize that I am a good target yet do not know how to avoid being so and still enjoy my trip. It seems like I have two poor choices: constrain my photography or be constantly on edge. Either one can dampen my enjoyment of our trip.

I would welcome any advice from photographers who have found how to balance the awareness of your surrounds with your focus on the images you are capturing...and enjoy Spain.
Oct 18th, 2007, 05:04 AM

Quite frankly, by not limiting your sources of information to this forum.
Oct 18th, 2007, 05:06 AM
ira

Naughty, Dukey, naughty.

Oct 18th, 2007, 05:32 AM

If you are so focused (pun intended) on what you are doing, then I hope your wife might keep a watchful eye on your surroundings.

Most property crime is opportunistic and non-violent, so awareness is your best defence.
Oct 18th, 2007, 05:36 AM

and once you are out of the high density cities, these petty crimes drop DRASTICALLY.