Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Hotels in Rome, Venice and Florence (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/hotels-in-rome-venice-and-florence-727651/)

teachertraveler Aug 9th, 2007 01:41 PM

Hotels in Rome, Venice and Florence

My husband and I are planning a trip to Italy for early next summer. I know summer is most expensive and busiest, but I'm a school teacher and it wouldn't work for me to take 2 weeks off during the school year. Anyway, I'm fine with finding lodging for just my husband and me. However, we're thinking of going with another couple. If we do this, we'd love to share a room and perhaps cut down on cost. Does anyone know of any hotels that could sleep up to 4 people comfortably? Thanks for your help!!

sandi_travelnut Aug 9th, 2007 01:49 PM

To get a hotel room that has 2 seperate bedrooms would cost about as much as just booking 2 rooms. Are you actually wanting to share one room?

Also, depending on how long you'll be in each city, you could look into renting an apartment. It's much easier to find a large enough space that's affordable. You can look at www.vrbo.com and choose your country and city.

WillTravel Aug 9th, 2007 01:50 PM

If you need to save on lodging, which I perfectly understand, consider staying in convents. It would be much nicer to have your own rooms, I'm sure.

teachertraveler Aug 9th, 2007 02:15 PM

Thanks for the tip...we don't mind sharing rooms since we're all friends but since we're all newlyweds, too, then seperate rooms might be nice. Where would I find info. on convents?

teachertraveler Aug 9th, 2007 02:16 PM

Sandi_travelnut: Thanks for the website for apts. I haven't gone to it yet, but can you stay for any length of time?

WillTravel Aug 9th, 2007 02:18 PM

For convents, do a search on this forum. The web sites are listed numerous times.

The most popular convents seem to be: