Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Hotel recommendations and Itinerary for Florence??

Old Feb 15th, 2005, 10:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi All!
I am a newbie to the forum... but am told it can be a great source. I am planning a 8 day trip to Florence for our first wedding anniversary. We are on a limited budget and are looking for hotel recommendations. My online searches generally point me to a Hotel Bellittini - any comments/experiences? Any other suggested hotels for <$150/200 a night? While I'm at it... any great day trips from Florence or itinerary musts? Thanks in advance!!!!
Old Feb 15th, 2005, 10:28 AM

We are staying in a B&B that we found through www.cross-pollinate.com. Pretty reasonable to more costly. For days trips, I took one to Siena/ San Gminignano which was pretty good, through Caf tours (see below). This time we are considering a wine tour through Tuscan trails (see below) Florence is a great city. All the sites you want to see are pretty compact and walkable.
www.tuscantrails.com/
www.caftours.com
Old Feb 15th, 2005, 10:48 AM

Florencebound, when are you travelling? Florence is a very compact city and we found it insanely crowded last June on June 22, 23, 24, which coincided with 2 special events in Florence.

We stayed at Hotel Silla on the quieter south side of the Arno just over the Ponte Alle Grazie bridge. It's a convenient walk over the bridge to the Uffizi Gallery.