Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > Home Exchange, Hostel, or Apartment Rental for an Extended Stay in London

Home Exchange, Hostel, or Apartment Rental for an Extended Stay in London

May 16th, 2007, 01:48 PM
Original Poster

Home Exchange, Hostel, or Apartment Rental for an Extended Stay in London

Hi All,
I'll be traveling to London and Europe for about six months. This is very expensive and I don't have tons of money, so I thought about doing a home exchange in London, probably the most expensive city I'll be going to. I've never done a home exchange before. Any advice? Is it worth it? My other option is to rent an apartment for about three weeks in or near London. I've never done this either. Any recommended websites for reliable, safe, clean apartment rentals? What about hostels? I haven't stayed in a hostel for over a decade, when I was young and didn't really care where I slept. My previous experience with hostels was that they were gross, uncomfortable, and not very safe. I'm an experienced traveler, but I have only stayed in hotels, and I have never traveled for this amount of time. Any advice or suggestions or recommended apartments, places to stay, whatever you can think of to save me some $$ would be most welcome and appreciated.
Thanks!
peri
May 16th, 2007, 02:17 PM

You can get hostels like that, but there are some good ones too.

Try looking here for a wide range of options:

http://www.gumtree.com
http://www.studios92.com

These have flat-shares, hostels, budget hotels, etc. Also consider Craigslist.

For a home exchange, obviously the main concern is that you'd actually have to find someone who was in London and wanted your house at a convenient time. And most likely, this person might not live exactly in the most convenient area.

I'd suggest Priceline for a short-term stay, but it sounds like that might be overly expensive for three weeks.
May 16th, 2007, 02:24 PM