Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Hertz Car Rental USA country of residence vs Great Britan

Old Feb 5th, 2010, 09:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am in the USA and my charge for a Hertz 31 day rental pick up in Zurich and drop off in Milan is $1,366.00. Now if I use the Hertz website for the same dates and car and say I am a resident of Great Britan the price is 668 pounds or $1,048.00.

Does anyone know why there is such a large difference in price? Has anyone from the USA paid for their Hertz rental on line at the time of making the reservation stating they were from Great Britan on the web site and received the lower price? What happened?

Thanks
Orrin
Old Feb 5th, 2010, 09:29 AM

no, I haven't, although I think I've heard of people getting different quotes based on whether a website was in one country or another. But if you are making a legal statement as to your residency, I would be cautious about lying, as it could well have to do with insurance and other legalities. I believe non-US residents have different rates from some US car rental agencies, at least they certainly ask if you are a US citizen/resident or not.

It could just be marketing, though, so I don't know for sure, but if insurance is involved I'd be careful about lying. Also, what happens when you get there and don't have the proper driver's license to prove your residency? Will you not get a car, or get a different rate?

31 days could be an issue, also, as it is def. not a short-term rental. I know some US travel insurance policies don't cover you if it is over 30 days.

sorry I'm just speculating. I know on some websites (like train tickets), that's not some legal insurance issue, when it asks your residence, it is just for marketing or language reasons.