Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Help with lodgings to access most of France (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/help-with-lodgings-to-access-most-of-france-874380/)

cbaird Jan 20th, 2011 08:54 AM

Help with lodgings to access most of France

I will be traveling for the first time to Europe for 2 weeks in July of this year. We (myself, adult daughter and boyfriend) will land in Paris, and be in France for a week before we meet back there with the rest of our party to head to London for the other week. I am a total travel newbie and panicking of course:). We will spend most of the week in France but might like to get to northern Italy or Switzerland of possible, suggestions on that? Mainly we think it makes sense to have a home base for the week, not in Paris but maybe more in the center of France, where we could rent a house/apartment for a week and roam out from there. It would have to be accessible to trains as we do not plan on renting a car at this point, although we all like to bike. Can anyone make any suggestions on the best area to start looking to rent, and a reliable source of rental properties? And any other ideas at all for our trip would be awesome too!
Thanks!
Cindy

janisj Jan 20th, 2011 09:10 AM

Welcome to Fodors cbaird. There is a basic problem w/ your idea of a base in central France to see Paris, parts of France -- and possibly Switzerland and Italy. Unfortunately that really won't work.

A week is not a very long time and even by train you can't really do day trips across a whole country. And definitely not to Switzerland or Italy. Which part(s) of France most interest you? You could do either 4 or so days in Paris and 2 or 3 days in another region -- or spend the full week in Paris. From Paris you can do day trips to places like Chartres or Giverney.

Christina Jan 20th, 2011 09:17 AM