Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Help me a remember a big buzzy cheap parisian bistro (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/help-me-a-remember-a-big-buzzy-cheap-parisian-bistro-905094/)

Kate Sep 5th, 2011 09:27 AM

Help me a remember a big buzzy cheap parisian bistro

I need the help of the Parisian experts here... back when I was an art student roughly 100 years ago (okay, it was about 1989) i dined with a group of equally poverty stricken students at a large, old-fashioned, buzzy bistro that, if I remember correctly, has been open at least since the heyday of the Moulin Rouge and Toulouse-Lautrec.

In my probably false memory, it might have been in Montmartre, but that could be wrong. I remember a vast room with high ceilings and paneled walls and very traditional bistro style menu (steak-frites and the like). One thing I DO remember is that is was cheap - else we certainly wouldn't have gone.

I'm heading to Paris next week and would love to rediscover this place. I realise bistros are ten a penny but I'm hoping that this place is an institution that will ring some bells for someone. We certainly didn't stumble across it by accident, so I'm hoping it's famous. Does it sound at all familiar?

kerouac Sep 5th, 2011 09:37 AM

Maybe you are thinking about Chartier on rue du Faubourg Montmartre?

Kate Sep 5th, 2011 09:45 AM

YES! that's it! I knew I could rely on you... I don't remember the food being anything special, but I loved the atmosphere.

nytraveler Sep 5th, 2011 09:46 AM