Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Help! I'm new at this game(and a poor student)- i need tips!!!

Nov 30th, 2003, 11:30 AM
Original Poster

This is my plan: I'm traveling with one other person. we are planning to backpack all the southern parts of spain, france and italy. we want to fly into madrid and out from italy(unless it happens to be a lot cheaper to fly out from the same city). We will be staying in youth hostels, and if it's convienent some cheap hotels as well. I was wondering if any experienced backpackers or travelers could give me suggestions on how to find the CHEAPTEST airfare possible(i heard going through the actual city's travel agency, like madrid's, may be cheaper than through the US). Also, i have been looking at the eurail pass and i'm not sure if it's a good idea to get one or not: we'll be staying for at least 4 weeks(depending on our money situation we might stay for longer). Please, any comments, suggestions, "must-do's" are welcomed. Thanks
Nov 30th, 2003, 11:42 AM

We have traveled a lot in Europe and lived there for 6 mo, but never backpacked, although we are always on a tight budget.
If you haven't already, get the Rick Steves' books for those countries, and also the Lonely planet books. I think they are geared toward budget travel, rail pass stuff, hostels, etc.

Let me know if I can be of any other help.
EK
Nov 30th, 2003, 11:47 AM
ira

Hi trav,

It is unlikely that a railpass will save you money. You can find out by going to www.railsaver.com and entering your itinerary.
Nov 30th, 2003, 12:03 PM

First, you may want to try posting over at the thorntree forum on lonelyplanet.com. A very low percentage of posters here are the backpacking / youth hostel-lodging type. Second, for any help with airfares, knowing from where and when is necessary. I saw some very low fares to Madrid on Lufthansa which must be purchased by Dec 1st. Happy travels.
Nov 30th, 2003, 01:23 PM