help. I gotta take a vacation

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 18th, 2023, 03:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have had a lousy three months: my dad passed away, my job turned upside down, our beloved dog is quite ill, and I have had an illness to deal with and it's only March. I want a vacation.

I love Italy and spent a month there in September/Oct (some may have read my endless trip report on going to Siena to study and then Calabria). Love the Osa peninsula for animal/bird watching -- but too late to book something for Belize before the rainy season it seems. Not a fan of the south of France (felt like rich ex-pats and bad galleries)

So thinking Barcelona - Mardrid. I am an artist and have never gone. Can I do both in a week? Do I want to do both in a week? I love art of course, good food, just walking around, sitting in a cafe, and hiking.
Portugal? LOVED Greece... wondering is there enough to do in Crete?

Thanks for any help. Want to go before the crazy high season so the end of April or the beginning of May before my sons return from college (sorry boys... you need to work this summer).

Last edited by RubyTwins; Mar 18th, 2023 at 03:12 PM. Reason: mistake
Old Mar 18th, 2023, 03:21 PM

Received 22 Likes on 4 Posts
I am sorry you have been struggling with so many problems.
Wither Barcelona or Madrid would be ideal or split them.
Portugal is a wonderful country to visit. Most helpful locals I ever have met. If you only have a week, choose Lisbon or Porto. You will want to return.
Crete is large. We based in.Chania in western Crete for two weeks and barely scratched the surface. We also spent two nights on the southern coast in Loutro.
Old Mar 18th, 2023, 05:01 PM

I agree with the comment regarding most helpful, and caring, locals in Portugal!
Old Mar 18th, 2023, 11:27 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I might look at southern Portugal or the area around Barcelona, especially north of the city along the coast.