Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Has anyone flown on Delta or Aer Lingus lately? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/has-anyone-flown-on-delta-or-aer-lingus-lately-712497/)

cmeyer54 Jun 12th, 2007 07:52 AM

Has anyone flown on Delta or Aer Lingus lately?

I am taking DH on a birthday trip to Ireland. The best airfares seem to be on either Delta or Aer Lingus. Since we normally fly either United or American, I have zero experience with the other two. Can anyone tell me about their overseas flights, experiences, airport services, etc? Thanks!

Images2 Jun 12th, 2007 08:27 AM

Economy Plus seating in United is much better than the normal coach seating in Delta.

We usually fly Delta, and they have improved their attitude over the past. Just before they went into bankruptcy it was terrible, but now it's pretty much comparable to the others.

We flew United this year a couple of times in Economy Plus and it's far superior!

nini Jun 12th, 2007 08:38 AM

If you prefer the 777 rather than a 767 you should choose Aer Lingus. You could possibly get the larger airbus plane. Delta does not have many triple sevens--I have not flown one with Delta in several years--and those flights were usually to Paris or London(from Atl). Of course, best price will always prevail in the decision.

Sinagua Jun 12th, 2007 09:04 AM

Flew Aer Lingus in February. Compared to my NWA flight to London the year before, I found the plane crowded, and the seats uncomfortable.

One thing that was weird was the duty free items they were pushing to sell instead of providing regular service.

We didn't have your own tv monitor in front of you so watching a movie was impossible if you weren't right in of one of the monitors.