Alsace and Switzerland Itinerary - feedback please

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 1st, 2014, 10:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I enjoy planning trips almost as much as taking them. We had thought that we might go to Barcelona over New Year's, but since that won't happen after all, I've turned my attention to next year's trip. After some advice on the board for my original idea (which included Milan and Bellagio) and reading everyone's posts on Switzerland, I've changed the focus to north of the Alps. Basically, we'd like to start in Alsace and end at Lake Geneva, seeing some of the Black Forest and eastern France, on to Lucerne, stay near Interlaken, and fly out of Geneva.

We enjoy gardens, walking but not rigorous mountain hiking, some museums, castles and historical sights, good food, and atmospheric and nice accommodations. While we enjoy wine, we're not looking to do a wine tasting tour. I'm not too good with gondolas swinging in the air (rack trains, ok) but could probably handle some short journeys on them - one reason I chose Wengen instead of another town. We're in good shape in our middle 60s.

First I looked into flights into Frankfurt and Zurich with an immediate short train ride to somewhere closer to either the Black Forest or Mulhouse, based on the duration and a direct journey - flying 10 hours, then a connecting flight followed by a long train is not something we want to do. I'd prefer to fly into somewhere closer, though, which is why on another thread I asked about the Air France option of the TGV to Strasbourg. Otherwise the first night would be spent somewhere we aren't particularly interested in, and in the morning we would need to get a car, drop off luggage, etc - essentially losing a half day. If we fly into Zurich, I guess we could stay one night in Basel; if into Frankfurt, stay in Offenburg (there is a car rental there and it would put us closer to our destination).