Original Poster

Walks in London:

http://victorianresearch.org/haineswalks.html
Mar 30th, 2007, 05:34 PM
Original Poster

Author: Meredith
Date: 02/06/2007, 11:02 pm
Hi, all,

I'm just beginning to research a trip to Turkey and have a question about domestic airfare within Turkey. About how much should I expect to pay roundtrip from Istanbul to Cappadocia (Kayseri) in May? Right now, all I'm finding is about $369 on Turkish Air - I'm not sure if that's normal, but it seems high to me.

Any advice on budget airlines I should check into? I know Atlas Jet and Onur Air are two options, but I'm not having much luck with them right now either.

Thanks!
Meredith

Author: ben_haines ([email protected])
Date: 02/07/2007, 12:39 pm

You can do it for 71 Turkish lira in a one-passenger sleeping car.

If you search under Man in Seat 61 Turkey, then click on travel within Turkey, you will find that trains leave the Asian side of Istanbul daily except Wednesday at 2005 and reach Kayseri at 1428. They have single and double sleepers, and restaurant cars. The fare in a single bed sleeper is a little under 51 US dollars or 71 Turkish lira. The pages on Turkey rightly say that the trains are good. If you took a morning plane from Istanbul you might leave central Istanbul at 0700, leave Yesilkoy airport at 0900, reach Kayseri airport at 1000, and reach central Kayseri at 1100. You would pay for a hotel night for your stay in Istanbul, till the plane flew next morning. The sleeper is convenient and gives good views of the country, the train is secure you lock your own cabin), and so long as you bring on board your own peanuts and wine the restaurant car is good, and cheap (it serves beer). The pages on Turkey list agents with whom you can book, but also you can go to Istanbul Sirkeci and book at the window: the clerks use English.

Few people on this forum know Turkish sleepers, so please write again if I can help further.

Ben Haines, London
[email protected]

Mar 30th, 2007, 05:42 PM