Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Going to Ring of Kerry from Dublin - input?

Old Jun 19th, 2007, 01:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I just posted another thread but wanted some suggestions since this board has been so helpful to me in the past. Normally, I'm so "organized" about our travels but since I'm actually living here for a while, I can't seem to make up my mind on things and find myself overwhelmed with the options I have, it's strange. Here is what I am thinking for the upcoming weekend:

I'd like to drive the Ring of Kerry. We'd be coming from Dublin and would probably start the "drive" at Kenmare. Any suggestions on the below are welcome:

1) we'd be leaving on Friday night and returning Sunday. I'm pretty open as to things-to-do in between (I thought about staying in Tipperary Fri night, and do Cashel Sat morning?). I'm looking for a hotel, probably not a B&B since I've never done that before here and I imagine a crying baby (though he rarely cries, but does for about 5 minutes before 8PM bedtime) is probably not desired in that setting

2) what are my best travel options? if driving over, we'd need to leave ~5pm (rush hour) in Dublin. or would you take the train and then rent car?

3) is the drive a "treacherous" one, i.e. one-lane roads with buses barreling down at you, etc? How bad is it? (You can see my other recent Ireland post on my driving, though it went well last weekend but was an easy drive).

Just fishing for suggestions since I think I've decided this is what we'll do and not much time to plan!

Thanks.
Old Jun 19th, 2007, 02:07 PM

jumper, I just do not think you have the time to do the Ring of Kerry justice. The ring takes a whole day itself. Plus a 6+ hour drive just to get there. Maybe if you had another day you could do it. You would just be in the car all day and night with your baby.