Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Gift ideas (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/gift-ideas-593206/)

reldihs Feb 21st, 2006 06:07 PM

Gift ideas

hi. i'm an american student about to leave for a study abroad session in england (oxford university, oriel college) this march.

i would like to surprise my host family with some gifts for when i arrive. the family consists of a husband and wife, a fourteen year-old boy, a ten year-old girl, and a five year-old girl/boy (the name is kerry, i'm just not sure yet and i haven't spoken to them yet).

the woman in charge of the study abroad program tells me that in the past, many of the families really enjoy see's candy and peanut britle. that's definitely on the list, but i'd like to be a little bit more personal.

i'm from southern california, and i also heard that people in the uk will be very excited about meeting someone from so-cal. i was thinking that a california-esque gift would also be a good idea, but living here my whole life, its actually kind of hard to think of what people outside of the area consider a cliche southern california thing.

if anyone from england (or anywhere else outside of california) has any ideas of what would be a good idea, please let me know. i would greatly appreciate that.

--hannah

beckyg Feb 21st, 2006 06:21 PM

Baseball caps for the kids. Maybe Levi's too? A coffee table picture book of the U.S. for the parents.

Have fun!

italy06 Feb 21st, 2006 07:18 PM

Hannah--