Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Get Euros in US or Italy? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/get-euros-in-us-or-italy-293735/)

StenoLady Mar 2nd, 2003 01:49 PM

Get Euros in US or Italy?

I have no experience with the new Euro. Should I get my Euros here in US before going or wait till I'm in Italy? What is the basic exchange rate? Is the value of a Euro to American dollar about the same?

rex Mar 2nd, 2003 02:03 PM

Get then there. One euro will cost you something like $1.10 USD.<BR><BR>Check xe.net for changes.<BR><BR>Best wishes,<BR><BR>Rex<BR>[email protected]<BR>

chrisp Mar 2nd, 2003 02:09 PM

Don't get them in the US. Use the ATM at the airport. Just be sure your ATM card has a 4 digit password. The exchange rate is better. Happy Traveling. <BR>

RachelG Mar 2nd, 2003 02:10 PM

I always get my foreign currency here at my bank before I leave. They don't charge an exchange fee, and I don't have to worry about finding somewhere to exchange money as soon as I arrive.

StenoLady Mar 2nd, 2003 02:14 PM

Rex,<BR>Thanks for the tip.<BR>Deb<BR>

rex Mar 2nd, 2003 02:21 PM

The &quot;no exchange fee&quot; is always a myth. They just adjust the rate in their favor an extra 5%, and say &quot;no fee&quot;, of course.<BR><BR>Unless you are a nation, settling your trade deficit, or exchanging millions per transaction.<BR>

Budman Mar 2nd, 2003 04:09 PM

You may want to take a few Euros with you before you depart, but you will be taking a beating on the exchange rate and commissions charged in the U.S. if you exchange large amounts . <BR><BR>I always get mine from the ATM's. At the airport, or they are all over the place, and user friendly. I use my check card and my credit card. Make sure you have a 4-digit pin. I've heard that the 6-digit pin can be a bit of trouble.

jody Mar 2nd, 2003 04:18 PM